Common Law Admission Test (CLAT)

Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) 2017

Common Law Admission Test (CLAT)

About CLAT-2017

Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is a non-statutory body created under a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for the convenience of the students seeking admission to various National Law Universities in the country. An entrance test is conducted to provide a list of candidates on the basis of 'merit-cum-preference' to each University for admission to their Under-Graduate (UG)/ Post-Graduate (PG) programmes, as per the eligibility, reservation and other criteria laid down under the respective statutes of the participating Universities.

The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT), is an all India common entrance examination, conducted on rotational basis by 18 National Law Universities (NLUs) for admissions to their UG and PG degree programmes. The 18 participating NLUs in the order of their year of establishment are:

1. National Law School of India University (NLSIU), Bengaluru.

2. *National Academy of Legal Study and Research (NALSAR) University of Law, Hyderabad.

3. *National Law Institute University (NLIU), Bhopal.

4. West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences (NUJS), Kolkata.

5. National Law University (NLU), Jodhpur.

6. Hidayatullah National Law University (HNLU), Raipur.

7. Gujarat National Law University (GNLU), Gandhinagar.

8. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University (RMLNLU), Lucknow.

9. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (RGNUL), Punjab.

10. Chanakya National Law University (CNLU), Patna.

11. National University of Advanced Legal Studies (NUALS), Kochi

12. National Law University Odisha (NLUO), Cuttack

13. National University of Study and Research in Law (NUSRL), Ranchi.

14. National Law University and Judicial Academy (NLUJA), Assam.

15. Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University (DSNLU), Visakhapatnam.

16. Tamil Nadu National Law School (TNNLS), Tiruchirappalli.

17. Maharashtra National Law University (MNLU), Mumbai.

18. Maharashtra National Law University (MNLU), Nagpur.

"Note:- *Pursuant to the directions passed by the Honourable High Court of Madhya Pradesh in W.P. No. 17936/16, the serial number of year of establishment of National Academy of Legal Study and Research (NALSAR) University of Law, Hyderabad and The National Law Institute University (NLIU), Bhopal inter se is subject to the decision of the Legal Education Committee of the Bar Council of India in that respect."

The first CLAT Core Committee consisting of Vice-Chancellors of seven participating NLUs decided that a Common Entrance Test shall be conducted by all the participating Universities on rotational basis in the order of their year of establishment. Accordingly, the first Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) was conducted in the year 2008. Presently there are 18 NLUs participating in CLAT and following the policy of rotation, the Tenth Common Law Admission Test (CLAT - 2017) shall be conducted by Chanakya National Law University, Patna.

Common Law Admission Test (CLAT)

Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) 2017