UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2013

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2013

Website : www.unesco.org

Every year, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes reward excellence and innovation in the field of literacy throughout the world. By honouring the work of institutions, organizations and individuals through these Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes are:

UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3) Supporting literacy in rural areas, rural adults and out-of school youth, particularly women and girls

UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2) Supporting literacy in multilingual contexts Every year, the Prizes are organized around a specific theme. This year?s focus is: ?Literacies for the 21st century? Candidatures should take into account this year?s theme while also considering the specificity of each Prize.

Call for candidatures:

Every year, UNESCO invites Member States and International Non-Governmental Organizations* in official partnership with the Organization to solicit and submit candidatures to the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

Who is eligible ?

Institutions, organizations or individuals promoting literacy through effective and innovative programmes or projects.

How to apply ?

The submission of nominations shall be made to the Director-General of UNESCO by the government of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as by Non-Governmental Organizations in official partnership with UNESCO in the relevant fields covered by the prize. Each nomination must be accompanied by a written recommendation. A self-nomination cannot be considered.

Each Government or International NGO is entitled to submit up to three nominations for the UNESCO Confucius Prizes for Literacy, and up to two nominations for the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prizes.

The files must be in English or French only.

Selection process

The selection of prizewinners is made by an International Jury appointed by UNESCO?s Director-General which meets in Paris once a year. The Prize is normally awarded at an official ceremony held for that purpose on the occasion of International Literacy Day (8 September).

The application process

The application will include:

1. The submission form duly completed.

2. The written recommendation by the Government of a Member State or by an International Non-Governmental Organization in official partnership with UNESCO.

3. Accompanying supporting material.

The submissions should reach the UNESCO Secretariat either electronically or via regular mail. Candidates are encouraged to download the submission form from the UNESCO website (www.unesco.org/en/literacy/literacy-prizes/), complete it and send it electronically to the following e-mail: literacyprizes@unesco.org

Alternatively, candidates can refer to the submission form attached to this guide.

The accompanying supporting material should be sent by regular mail to the following address:

Literacy Prizes Secretariat

Section for Literacy and Non-formal Education

Division for Basic Learning and Skills Development, Education Sector UNESCO 7, place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris 07 SP, France

Tel: + 33 1 45 68 09 67 or +33 1 45 68 08 26 Fax: + 33 1 45 68 56 33 (direct) 26/28

E-mail: literacyprizes@unesco.org


Learn more: www.unesco.org/en/literacy/literacy-prizes/

For more details please visit : www.unesco.org/en/literacy/literacy-prizes

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2013